Movie Theatre Located in Slave Lake.

Updates

Announcement:
Given the Covid 19 restrictions imposed by the Alberta Government Rex Theatre will be implementing capacity restrictions beginning Monday Sept 20/21. As per Government regulations we will restrict the capacity of the auditorium to 1/3 of fire code. You will NOT be asked for proof of vaccination.
Masks and 2 metre physical distancing is required. Attendees must be seated with household members only, or two close contacts if they live alone. You may remove your mask once seated in the auditorium.

UPCOMING MOVIES

Sep 24 - Oct 4

Shang Chi and the Legend of Ten Rings

Starring Simu Liu, Awkwafina, and Ben Kingsley.

Duration: 2 hours and 12 minutes 

Rated:  PG

 

Fri, Sep 24 at 8:00 pm 3D

Sat, Sep 25 at 8:00 pm 3D
Sun, Sep 26 at 8:00 pm

Mon, Sep 27 at 8:00 pm
Tue, Sep 28 at 7:30 pm
Wed, Sep 29 at 7:30 pm
Thu, Sep 30 at 7:30 pm
Fri, Oct 1 at 8:00 pm 3D
Sat, Oct 2 at 8:00 pm 3D
Sun, Oct 3 at 8:00 pm

Mon, Oct 4 at 8:00 pm

Oct 8 - 14

Addams Family 2

Starring Chloe Grace Moretz, Charlize Theron, and Oscar Isaac

Duration: 1 hour and 34 minutes 

Rated:  PG

Fri, Oct 8 at 8:00 pm 

Sat, Oct 9 at 8:00 pm 

Sun, Oct 10 at 8:00 pm
Mon, Oct 11 at 8:00 pm

Tue, Oct 12 at 7:30 pm 

Wed, Oct 13 at 7:30 pm 

Thu, Oct 14 at 7:30 pm

No Time to Die

Oct 15 - 21

Starring Daniel Craig, Rami Malek, and Christoph Waltz

Duration: 2 hours and 3 minutes

Rated:  Not yet rated

Fri, Oct 15 at 8:00 pm 

Sat, Oct 16 at 8:00 pm 
Sun, Oct 17 at 8:00 pm

Mon, Oct 18 at 8:00 pm
Tue, Oct 19 at 7:30 pm
Wed, Oct 20 at 7:30 pm
Thu, Oct 21 at 7:30 pm
 

Admission Prices

CASH ONLY

Concession Prices

CASH ONLY

Snacks

Cold Drinks

Combo

ABOUT US

Roy Evans acquired the Theatre business early in 1949 from Len Stiles who was then showing movies in communities around the lakeshore including Slave Lake, Widewater, Canyon Creek and Kinuso. At the time Len was moving to Chisholm and Roy acquired the rights to show movies in Slave Lake.   Thus began what is now the oldest family owned small business in Slave Lake.  

The movies were shown in the Legion Hall on Main Street for approx 5 years until the theatre was established in its current location.  The original building was about half the size it is now and has undergone several additions and renovations since then.   Back then movies were shown with 16 mm projectors and film reels were delivered in metal canisters by train. To date 5 generations of family have worked in the business alongside Roy and his wife Betty. Roy operated the business until he was forced to retire at age 89 due to ill health.   His children are now carrying on his legacy.